top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnsley Long

How is it already mid-July?

I truly cannot believe that the summer has flown by this fast and that it's already the middle of July! My time is quickly coming to an end here in Winston-Salem, and I'm trying to pack in all the city, and my internship experience, has to offer.


I love capturing my life through pictures, so I've created a gallery on the website for a little more of the exploring I've done throughout the summer & throughout the state! Below I'm going to share a little bit about some things I've learned and experiences I've had in Winston-Salem!


--


An ~ Artsy ~ Town


WS is known to be an artistic town & of course, it's home to the UNC School of the Arts so it's only natural that almost everywhere you go there is some type of art. It's neat to see the variety and diversity of pieces displayed throughout the town. This is one of my favorites, which is an interactive art gallery in Downtown WS. On a hot summer's day, you can find the red sculpture spraying mist and kids running around enjoyed a nice way to cool off.


Reynolda Village


Reynolda Village is a small village within north Winston-Salem near Wake Forest University. WFU actually owns the land and there are paths that connect the campus to the village. Reynolda Village reminds me of a little beach shopping town, with salons, stores, local restaurants, coffee shops, and local businesses. The village was created around the Reynolda House, home of the Reynolda Museum of American Art.


Old Town Salem

In 1753, settlers within the Moravian Church established community in the little town of Salem, North Carolina. The city of Winston was established almost a decade later, and the two would not be incorporated until 1899, into what is now the town of Winston-Salem. Old Salem, however, has stayed the same and is now a historical distract. Old Salem home to Winkler's Bakery and Salem College, the one of the first colleges established for women. Tourist can enjoy walking the streets of Old Salem and can find years of history within the little homes and shops. I was lucky enough to visit on a Saturday during the Farmer's Market which many locals of Salem as well as Winston-Salem as a whole enjoy picking fruits and vegetables from.


Two Scoop Tuesdays



There is this diner in town called Mayberry and every Tuesday they have Two Scoop Tuesdays. My roommates and I quickly made this a tradition each week to go. My favorite go-to selection was the Moose Tracks! Hits the spot every time for a hot summer in NC.


FRIENDS!

One of my favorite things about this summer was my ability to travel all over North Carolina (& beyond!) but even more, I enjoyed having friends & family come visit in Winston-Salem! My best friend from college, Ali (pictured above), lives in Durham so we both had the chance to visit each other's towns this summer! I have another friend from the graduate school search, Hannah, who did her NODA internship at NC State so we were also able to visit each other! I also enjoyed meeting new friends, including my two roommates, Elayna and Allie. We spent time exploring WS together and of course, watching the Bachelorette each Monday.


--


That's just a little bit about life outside of the office here in Winston! I'll be sad to leave this town in a few short weeks!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page