top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnsley Long

HECMA, Here We Go!

Updated: Jun 18, 2019

It's officially my first week as the HECMA intern! Since HECMA has never had an intern before, I'm excited to keep this record of my experiences to share with others, including (hopefully) future interns! This week I'm in Athens, GA working directly with the Director of Finance, Carrie Smith. We are working on gathering information and materials which we will eventually use to produce our budget. This budget will be proposed at the annual leadership team meeting at the conference in June. It's interesting to work with a budget as this is not something Student Affairs professionals at the graduate level usually get experience with.


Conference Preparation


Additionally, I've had a couple phone calls this week with other leadership team members including the Vice President for Conferences and Special Events (Jacqui Tisdale) and the Director of Marketing and Communications (David Wiltshire). Jacqui and I are working with the Whova application to prepare materials for the conference. Who knew the background work that was needed to produce an application such as this! Wow!


Communication with Communications


David, and the whole Leadership Team, is super excited as our new website will be released in the upcoming weeks! This website includes our new logo and branding, which we have been creating over the last few months. The entire team has worked hard on preparing this website which includes the new *searchable* resource library, complied by the Operations and Strategic Planning committee. Once the website is live, I'll be happy to share it on the blog!



In the meantime, please enjoy this great photo of downtown Athens, GA. I've been spending my last few days soaking up my favorite city. See you soon Winston-Salem!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page